Child of Light

I am not a great writer, I don’t like to “talk” about what I am doing or explaining things (another thing I am terrible at, I guess I will never become a teacher, and I should definitely forget about my writing career). But I would like to dedicate this post to a game that I discovered some months ago, and only started playing yesterday. This game is called “Child of Light”.

Child of Light is a platforming role-playing video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts players in the shoes of Aurora, a child stolen from her home, who, in her quest to return, must bring back the sun, the moon and the stars held captive by the mysterious Queen of the Night.

I discovered this game when I was working on my master’s degree project. I was already four or even more months into the project when an article in a Belgian newspaper popped up. (You can find the article here, it’s in Dutch). My master’s graduation project was a semi-autobiographical fairy tale. At that time I had red hair, so my protagonist had red hair as well. My eyes went all €2 coins when I saw the resemblance between my character “Plinses” and “Aurora” from Child of Light.Β 

latest

Aurora

3

Plinses

I immediately fell in love with this game. The character is so well animated. The sceneries are so amazingly beautiful. The haunted music and slightly ‘sad’ story brings a bit of melancholia with it, which makes it great in my opinion.

homepage_slide_01_126254

homepage_slide_child_of_light_screenshot_cave_127567

I am not very far in the game but I already sense that this is going to be one of my favourite games this year. For some reason I could relate to the loneliness of the character. And of course what would be a game without a soundtrack. This game has wonderful music to accompany you on your journey. It is composed byΒ CΕ“ur de Pirate, a Canadian singer-songwriter. I will be obsessed with the soundtrack for a long time, I am sure about it.

That was it, my tiny “contribution” about this amazing game.

Leave a Reply

